When will recreational marijuana be legal in California?2017-08-01T12:15:12-08:00

On January 1, 2018, California’s first legally licensed stores will open doors, selling marijuana for adult recreational use. Whoa – thanks, Prop. 64! On this monumental day, it will be officially legal in the state of California for adults (21 and up) to purchase and possess up to one ounce of marijuana. Although possession was instantly legalized following the election on November 9, 2016, the full business cycle will be complete come January 1, 2018. In addition to retail dispensaries catering to the recreational market, a new green rush of cannabis-related businesses will flood the California tourism industry, including San Francisco marijuana tours with 420 Bus.

For more information on Prop. 64, visit canorml.org.

Can I smoke marijuana on the bus during the tour?2017-07-28T09:17:09-08:00

No. Unfortunately, as of now, it is against the law in California to smoke marijuana in the passenger compartment of buses at any time, including during dispensary tours. According to Section 11362.1 of Article 2 (Cannabis) of the California Health and Safety Code, passengers are not allowed to consume marijuana – in any form – while riding in a motor vehicle.

During the 420 Bus dispensary tour, we will transport you to the best San Francisco Bay Area cannabis dispensaries with consumption licenses, where you can legally purchase and consume adult use marijuana. Additional smoking lounges and new businesses with consumption licenses will also be added to the tour itinerary as the industry evolves in California.

The complete rule is as follows: (8) Smoke or ingest cannabis or cannabis products while riding in the passenger seat or compartment of a motor vehicle, boat, vessel, aircraft, or other vehicle used for transportation except as permitted on a motor vehicle, boat, vessel, aircraft, or other vehicle used for transportation that is operated in accordance with Section 26200 of the Business and Professions Code and while no persons under 21 years of age are present.

For more information on the Health and Safety Code, visit leginfo.legislature.ca.gov.

Does the 420 Bus company sell or provide marijuana?2017-07-27T17:13:31-08:00

No. We are a transportation tour company, and we do not sell or distribute marijuana or any other substances. However, the 420 Bus Tour will transport you to Bay Area dispensaries, where you can legally purchase recreational marijuana, starting January 1, 2018.

What do I need to bring with me?2017-07-27T17:28:22-08:00

Never leave home without your photo ID, in order to prove you are at least 21 years old. Your ID or passport is required to board the bus and enter the dispensary. Come prepared with cash for any in-dispensary purchases you’d like to make, as credit cards are not accepted. Additional items to bring: jacket, camera, open mind and positive attitude. Waters and munchie bags will be provided.

Do I have to spend money at the dispensary?2017-07-27T17:30:17-08:00

No. There are no mandatory purchase requirements associated with the cannabis tour or partner dispensaries.

Do I have to smoke marijuana on the tour?2017-07-27T17:32:46-08:00

No. If you’re just curious about California’s new recreational marijuana industry, but don’t want to consume, that is completely okay with us. You will never be pressured to purchase or consume cannabis during a 420 Bus tour.

Can I leave my stuff on the bus while we’re in the dispensary?2017-07-27T17:36:33-08:00

Yes you can. The 420 Bus will wait outside of each marijuana dispensary and subsequent entertainment stop, and is dedicated to your tour group for the duration of the trip. However, we are not responsible for any lost or stolen items, and we recommend keeping valuable items with you at all times during public tours that are shared with new friends.

What is the minimum age to go on the 420 Bus?2017-07-27T17:39:21-08:00

In accordance with new California state law for recreational marijuana purchase, possession and consumption, you must be at least 21 years of age to board the 420 Bus and participate in a Bay Area cannabis tour. A photo ID or passport is required. Even if you don’t plan to partake in the marijuana activities, you must prove yourself to be at least 21-years-old to ride on the bus.

What happens if I want to leave the tour early?2017-07-27T17:42:22-08:00

While the 420 Bus cannot deviate from the itinerary and timeline during public group tours, guests wishing to leave early can use ride-share app services to return to the West Oakland Bart station if needed. Please notify your tour guide. We will miss you!

How do I book a tour? Can I pay with a credit card?2017-07-27T17:43:24-08:00

You can purchase an individual ticket or book a private group experience on the website. Because 420 Bus is a transportation company, you can pay for your tour with a credit card. You will need to pay with cash if you purchase marijuana at a dispensary.

What is the cancellation policy?2017-07-27T17:44:44-08:00

We get it, life happens! If you can no longer join us, we’ll be sad, but you can cancel your individual tour reservation two days before the trip for a full refund. After the 48 hour mark, there are no refunds. Please call for private group tour cancellation terms.

Where does the bus pick up and drop off passengers?2017-07-27T17:48:39-08:00

All individually ticketed public marijuana dispensary tours depart from the West Oakland Bart Station – centrally located with free public parking. For private group tours, the pick up location is your custom preference.

How many seats are available for each tour?2017-07-27T17:56:53-08:00

The 420 Bus can seat a maximum of 40 guests. A minimum of 6 seats must be booked in order for tours to depart.